Dec 10, 2019  
Catalog 2019-2020 
Catalog 2019-2020


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments

Chair of the Department of Theater: Grace Burton

Professors: Carolyn Anderson; Gautam Dasgupta; Lary Opitz

Assistant Professor: Eunice Ferreira

Senior Artists-in-Residence: Will Bond, Kate Kelly Bouchard, Garett E. Wilson

Artists-in-Residence: John Michael DiResta, Jared Klein

Lecturers: Marie Glotzbach, Susan Kessler, Julia May Jonas,  Alyssa Opishinski, Barbara Opitz, Patricia Pawliczak, Yvonne Perry, Douglas Seldin

Technical Director: Jared Klein, Jessica Thomas

Assistant Technical Director: James Varkala

Costume Manager: Patricia Pawliczak

Department Overview

The Skidmore Theater Department is a pre-professional program that offers students the opportunity to pursue the serious study of the theater arts within a liberal arts setting. Courses within the department afford training in the basic demands of the discipline-physical and vocal control, technique in acting and directing, technical and design skills-as well as the opportunity for advanced study, practical production experience, study abroad, and off-campus internships. The college liberal arts requirements help students to understand the moral, intellectual, and political context in which any artist practices. Theater has the potential to encourage difficult conversations, to ask important questions about cultural representation, to provide a place for interrogating power dynamics, and to give voice to marginalized populations. The Skidmore Theater Department is committed to exploring ways to engage in issues of culture, race, ethnicity, socioeconomic class, gender identity, sexual orientation, and disability, both on and off stage. We strive to create opportunities for students who have been historically underrepresented on our stages.

Major Requirements


Minor Requirements




Course Listing











Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments